not-so flower power

I was drawn to do this more out of a desire for beauty than anything else. Inspired by a children’s science experiment book I picked up, we set about trying to dye the petals of these white carnations. The illustration led me to expect the edges of the flowers to turn red, green or blue as appropriate (we tried one of each). The picture in the book was gorgeous and I had high expectations for a beautiful way to show the children how the flower drinks water. I was happy enough with a simple explanation but Matt introduced us to the concept of capillary action! 

As you can see, it didn’t work. Epic fail in fact. I’m not sure why..maybe we should have cut the stems shorter or put more food colouring in. But I thought I’d share with you what I suppose is our first official science experiment (if you don’t count baking, which of course we do!). If you’ve tried this more successfully than me, advice is welcome. We’d love to have another go….

Leave a Reply

